resolutions

I’m not the type to make new year resolutions. My main aim is always to look for satisfaction, in life, in general and through specific actions as necessary. There are some things I know I need to do, get fitter, exercise my brain more, finish more of my writing pieces. But I’m happily working towards these goals anyway, and I’m content to let them slip if other demands are made, since I only respond to those demands if they align with the other goals I have.

For my writing though I have singled out a resolution. Rejection.

I want to get more rejection letters. The outward expectation is set low, but the underlying element is there. I can’t get any rejection letters if I don’t send my work to editors. If something gets accepted, bonus. But I will make those rejections a symbol of success regardless, unequivocal evidence that I am writing, practicing and following through on my broader promise to take a piece through to completion.

That’s the resolution, I’ll let you know how I get on.

Leave a Reply

